Our new website will arrive soon; in the meantime, please see below for the results for the 2024 Mississippi Review Prize.

We will begin accepting submissions for the 2025 Prize on August 15, 2024. Visit our Submittable page for guidelines. If you have questions, please e-mail: msreview@usm.edu. If you'd like to subscribe or order an issue of the magazine, please visit our online store here.

Our friends at Duotrope have asked that we post current guidelines to our website. When Duotrope asks, we answer. Here's our current call for THE ART ISSUE:

During this open reading period, Mississippi Review is looking for writing that engages with other forms of art in some way. We’re accepting fiction, nonfiction, and poetry submissions. Hybrid works are also welcome. More information on the kind of work we’re interested in for this issue:

• Writing that uses ekphrasis
• Writing that centers around another form of art somehow
• Writing that uses another form of art in a key scene or as a foundational image
• Writing that is simply inspired by or influenced by another form of art in some way

We are happy to read submissions that utilize fine art or commercial art. We’re also looking to read work that explores/uses various kinds of art: painting, sculpture, photography, performance, mixed media, music, film, theater, dance, comics, fashion, etc. If you have a piece that discusses, references, or is inspired by a different form of art in some way, we want to read it!

Poets may submit up to five poems; we can consider up to three flash pieces in one submission. Stand-alone fiction, nonfiction, and hybrid submissions should be limited to one piece per submission. Please only submit work in one genre for this open reading period.

This issue will be published in early 2025. Along with a payment of $50, contributors will receive a one-year subscription and two complimentary copies of the art issue. This open reading period will close on June 30, 2024. You can submit your work here.

In other news...

The editors of Mississippi Review are pleased to announce the winners and finalists for the 2024 Mississippi Review Prize. Along with the winners in all three genres, the finalists below will be published in our Summer Prize Issue. Editor Adam Clay selected the winning submissions in poetry, nonfiction, and fiction.


Fiction Winner: Adam Warren – “Literal Spit”

Nonfiction Winner: Jessie Kraemer – “Object Permanence”

Poetry Winner: Stacey Johnson – “Thirteen Ways of Looking at the Sea”


Fiction Finalists:

Olivia Fantini – “Jellyfish”
Alice Hatcher – “The End of the Line”
Jillian Jackson – “Family Resemblance”
Bryan Price – “Memorybook”
Kathryn Shuff – “Single Use”


Nonfiction Finalist:

Marcus Spiegel – “Blood from a Cactus”


Poetry Finalists:

Stacey Balkun - "Lent in the Anthropocene"
Jacob Benavides – “A Long Life”
Marina Kraiskaya (Brown) – “Poem for James Schuyler”
Samuel Burt – “Daniel”
Chloe Cook - “Home for Spring Break and I Become Canine”
L.S. Klatt – “The Departed”
Rose McLarney – “good nature”
Sally O’Keeffe – “Exercise Bicycle at McLean with John Keats”
Cindy Juyoung Ok – “Our Ascriptions”
Dana Roeser — “Dishabille”
Ellen June Wright – “I’ll Never Forget the Man Who Stepped Onto the Lorraine Hotel’s Balcony”
Matthew Zhao – “Da Capo al Fine”


Adam Clay, Editor
Mississippi Review
118 College Drive #5144
Hattiesburg, Mississippi 39406-0001